Austin News

Arthouse at the Jones Center Announces 2011 Arthouse Texas Prize Finalists

Arthouse at the Jones Center is pleased to announce three finalists for the $30,000 2011 Arthouse Texas Prize. The finalists are Jamal Cyrus (Houston), Will Henry (Houston), and Jeff Williams (Austin). These artists were chosen from 146 nominations offered by a select group of 64 art world professionals. The prize, which recognizes innovation, talent and a marked contribution to a thriving Texas art scene, promotes and celebrates a promising Texas-based artist who has produced a significant body of work in the past two years. Eligible artists must have lived in Texas for the past three years, and could not have had a solo show at a major museum in the past three years.

Each finalist receives a stipend to create new work which will be included in the 2011 Arthouse Texas Prize exhibition. The exhibition, organized by Arthouse Associate Director and Curator, Elizabeth Dunbar, will be on view at Arthouse August 25 – October 30, 2011. The exhibition will be accompanied by a full-color catalog featuring essays and images documenting the work of the three finalists. The prize and exhibition represent a significant opportunity to bring attention to Texas’ rapidly growing and influential contemporary art scene.
The Arthouse Texas Prize recipient will be announced at Arthouse’s annual party and fundraiser in October 2011.

New York News

The Whitney Announces Curators for 2012 Biennial

The Whitney Museum of American Art announced today that the 2012 Whitney Biennial will be co-curated by the Whitney's Elisabeth Sussman and independent curator Jay Sanders. This will be the 76th in the Museum's series of Annual and Biennial exhibitions inaugurated in 1932 by Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney.

The next Whitney Biennial, the Museum's signature survey of contemporary American art, goes on view in March 2012. The list of the selected artists will be announced at the end of 2011 or early 2012.


2010 Art Writers Grant Recipients

The Creative Capital | Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2010 grant cycle. Designed to encourage and reward writing about contemporary art that is rigorous, passionate, eloquent and precise, as well as to create a broader audience for arts writing, the program aims to strengthen the field as a whole and to ensure that critical writing remains a valued mode of engaging the visual arts.

... might be good
Print this article Send comments to our editors Print the whole issue! Grab the ...might be good RSS feed

Send comments to the editors:

Email this article to a friend:

Print this article Send comments to our editors Print the whole issue! Grab the ...might be good RSS feed